Saunders and Murray win Double Gold at Canadian Championships

Winnipeg, May 28, 2018 – Jennifer Saunders of Winnipeg continued to make history at the national level by winning gold in the Women’s Open event at Racquetball Canada’s Canadian Championships last Saturday. With this win, Saunders now holds twenty four combined open singles and doubles titles, more than any athlete in Canadian history.

Saunders faced fellow Winnipeg athlete Christine Richardson in Saturday’s Women’s Open Singles final. Saunders was clearly motivated and took charge right away, defeating Richardson in two games and holding her to only five points with scores of 15-4, 15-1.

Earlier in the week, Saunders teamed up with Danielle Drury of Saskatoon to win the Women’s Open Doubles event.

Samuel Murray of Baie-Comeau won his second Canadian Men’s Singles Open Championship title Saturday, defeating Coby Iwaasa of Lethbridge 15-3, 15-6. Murray drew on his skills and the experience he has gained throughout the pro-tour season to dominate throughout the event. Murray only had seventeen points scored against him in the four matches played.

Murray was also won gold in the Men’s Open Doubles event earlier in the week, with partner and brother Tommy Murray of St. Hubert.

The Canadian Championships took place in Langley at the Newlands Golf and Country Club. The event included several age and skill events, providing an excellent high performance and competition for life opportunity for Canadian athletes. There were 102 athletes from 9 provinces participating in the 2019 Championship event.

The following results include the Open Men’s and Women’s bracket results and final placements. Also listed are the podium results for all age and skill categories.

Results and Draws

Racquetball Canada is the national sport governing body for the sport of Racquetball in Canada. Along with the support of the Government of Canada and many valued partners, Racquetball Canada develops competitive national teams and oversees programs that grow the sport of racquetball in Canada. For more information visit our website at

Media Contact:

Jan Hanson

Director of Communications and Marketing

Racquetball Canada Board of Directors


Women’s Open Singles Results 

Round of 16

(1) Jennifer Saunders (Winnipeg, MB), bye

(2) Christine Richardson (Winnipeg, MB), bye

(3) Michèle Morissette (Baie-Comeau), bye

(4) Danielle Drury (Saskatoon, SK), bye

(5) Erin Geeraert (Calgary, AB), bye

(6) Linda Ellerington (Shields, SK), bye

(7) Juliette Parent (St. Jacques de Montcalm, QC) defeated (10) Marjolaine Parent (St. Jacques de Montcalm, QC), 15-4, 15-10;

(9) Cassie Prentice (Macrorie, SK) defeated (8) Muriel Bouvin (Québec, QC), 15-9, 15-4.

Round of 8

(1) Saunders defeated (9) Prentice, 15-0, 15-3;

(2) Richardson defeated (7) Parent, 15-6, 15-12;

(3) Morissette defeated (6) Ellerington, 15-1, 7-15, 11-1;

(4) Drury defeated (5) Geeraert, 15-8, 15-7.


(1) Saunders defeated (4) Drury, 15-13, 15-8;

(2) Richardson defeated (3) Morissette, 15-10, 15-12.

Bronze Medal Match

(4) Drury defeated (3) Morissette, 11-15, 15-10, 11-9.

Gold Medal Match

(1) Saunders defeated (2) Richardson, 15-4, 15-1.


Men’s Open Singles Results

Round of 16

(1) Samuel Murray (Baie-Comeau,QC), bye

(2) Coby Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB) defeated (15) Eric Urteaga (Langley, BC), 15-3, 15-2;

(3) Tim Landeryou (Calgary, AB) defeated (14) David Serra (Surry, BC), 15-1, 15-7;

(4) Pedro Castro (Brossard, QC) defeated (13) Ian Frattinger (Martensville, SK), 15-10, 15-8;

(5) Trevor Webb (Cambridge, ON) defeated (12) Patrick Jauvin (Terrebonne, QC), 15-8, 15-6;

(6) Nicolas Bousquet (Montréal, QC) defeated (11) Michael Leduc (Québec, QC), 15-3, 15-8;

(7) Lee Connell (Saskatoon, SK) defeated (10) Sean Sauvé (Valleyfield, QC), 15-4, 15-4;

(8) Tanner Prentice (Macrorie, SK) defeated (9) Tommy Murray (St-Hubert, QC), 15-13, 15-8.

Round of 8

(1) Murray defeated (8) Prentice, 15-0, 15-3;

(2) Iwaasa defeated (7) Connell, 6-15, 15-4, 11-2;

(3) Landeryou defeated (6) Bousquet, 15-2, 10-15, 11-3;

(5) Webb defeated (4) Castro, 15-13, 15-8.


(1) Murray defeated (5) Webb, 15-3, 15-2.

(2) Iwaasa defeated (3) Landeryou, 15-13, 15-2

Bronze Medal Match

(3) Landeryou defeated (5) Webb, 15-8, 15-7.

Gold Medal Match

(1) Murray defeated (2) Iwaasa, 15-3, 15-6.



Canadian Championships Open Singles Final Standings

Women’s Open Singles 

1. Jennifer Saunders (Winnipeg, MB)

2. Christine Richardson (Winnipeg, MB)

3. Danielle Drury (Saskatoon, SK)

4. Michèle Morissette (Baie-Comeau, QC)

5. Erin Geeraert (Calgary, AB)

6. Juliette Parent (St. Jacques de Montcalm, QC)

7. Cassie Prentice (Macrorie, AB)

8. Linda Ellerington (Shields, SK)

9. Muriel Bouvin (Québec, QC)

10. Marjolaine Parent (St. Jacques de Montcalm, QC)

Men’s Open Singles

1. Samuel Murray (Baie-Comeau, QC)

2. Coby Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB)

3. Tim Landeryou (Calgary, AB)

4. Trevor Webb (Cambridge, ON)

5. Pedro Castro (Brossard, QC)

6. Lee Connell (Saskatoon, SK)

7. Tanner Prentice (Saskatoon, SK)

8. Nicolas Bousquet (Montréal, QC)

9. Ian Frattinger (Martensville, SK)

10. Sean Sauvé (Valleyfield, QC)

11. Michael Leduc (Québec, QC)

12. Tommy Murray (St. Hubert, QC)

13. Patrick Jauvin (Terrebonne, QC)

14. Eric Urteaga (Langley, BC)

15. David Serra (Surrey, BC)


Canadian Championships Podium Results – All Singles Events

Women’s Open Singles

1. Jennifer Saunders (Winnipeg, MB)

2. Christine Richardson (Winnipeg, MB)

3. Danielle Drury (Saskatoon, SK)

Women’s A/B Singles

1. Riley Sommerville (Langley, BC)

2. Kay McNeil (Dugald, MB)

3. Gwen Smoluk (Winnipeg, MB)

Men’s Open Singles

1. Samuel Murray (Baie-Comeau, QC)

2. Coby Iwaasa (Lethbridge, AB)

3. Tim Landeryou (Calgary, AB)

Men’s A Singles

1. Ryan Mosdell (Langley, BC)

2. Stephane Parent (St. Jacques de Montcalm, QC)

3. Kirby Shwaykosky (East St Paul, MB)

Men’s B Singles

1. Peter Olynick (Winnipeg, MB)

2. James Bileski (Dugald, MB)

3. Barry Bradshaw (Edmonton, AB)

Men’s C Singles

1. Allan Meston (Charlottown, PEI)

2. Al Wilson (Coquitlam, BC)

3. Bobby Lague (Saskatoon, SK)

Men’s 45+ Singles

1. Cory Osborne (Penetanguishene, ON)

2. Patrick Jauvin (Terrebonne, QC)

3. Jean Nolet (Levis, QC)

Men’s 65+ Singles

1. Patrick Trask (Maple Ridge, BC)

2. Len Gerelus (Winnipeg, MB)

3. Bill Burdge (Abbotsford, BC)

Men’s 70/75 Singles

1. Denis Gaucher (New Westminster, BC)

2. Steve Hendry (Victoria, BC)

3. Peter Callioux (Langley, BC)